starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is SS right for me?

Default Is SS right for me?

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I am a total fitness noob and I'm trying to re-educate myself. I'm posting here to sort out years of misinformation from fact. That being said...

Before I invest serious time, money and effort into this program, I want to know if it will help accomplish my goals:

-I want to be healthy, live longer, feel better
    -I want to look good (Ripped, but not gigantic. Yeah, like the movie stars. Oh, Ryan Renolds... <3)
    -I want to be strong, but not necessarily at a competitive level

I'm a 24 year old male, 5'9" and 160lbs. I couldn't possibly say what my body fat percentage is but I'm your average, inactive joe. I'm not fit. At all. Like, here's an example. I have a chinup bar that I play with. I can do 2.5 chinups before my arms turn to noodles.

I've done some preliminary reading and apparently, with this program, my body fat would come to some sort of equilibrium before I'll be able to burn it off? I've also seen pictures of people frying up a dozen eggs in a pan and drinking nearly 4 litres of milk each day, which is only a part of their 6000 calorie diets. Is this for real?

tl;dr... my questions:
    1. Will this program help me achieve my goals?
    2. I couldn't possibly eat 6000 calories and a gallon of milk and water a day. I understand exercise will help me achieve this. At what point into the program should I be able to eat this much?
    3. Is it dangerous to eat such a high fat diet? (No anecdotal evidence, please. Let's stay scientific eh?)
    4. What kind of results could I expect if I can't stomach a 6000 calorie diet, and umpteen gallons of milk? (Let's assume I stick with a 2000 calorie diet and 1litre of milk a day.)