starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What exercises should I do?

Default What exercises should I do?

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I just started training at home which put some limitations on what exercises I can do.

I can squat, bench, press seated, deadlift and do dips. I don't want to do power cleans as I live in apartment and the risk of dropping the weight when it starts to get really heavy is too big.

I can not find any program from Mark which use only those lifts. The ones not using power cleans uses pull-ups and I don't have a place to do them. The only thing I can find is the "Practical Programming (2nd Ed) Novice Program" which is squat, deadlift and bench/press every workout, but that is only recommended for a few weeks before power cleans is introduced. The deadlift is my strongest lift and my 1 rep max was 440 6 months ago (lower now after a small break). Would recovering most likely be a problem if I deadlifted 3 times a week?

Any ideas on how to do the program? Everything else will be in place. Food and sleep is dialed in. I've done the program before with great success but I trained at a facility at that point. Being a single dad and being busy with my own company make is impossible for me to go to a gym and train consistently, so now I have bought the barbell, bench and squat rack at home and I just have to find a way to work with what I got.

Thanks a lot in advance.

I think I will actually buy a power rack with a chin-up bar in it. Would also be safer than the free standing squat rack I just bought when training alone.