starting strength gym

Thread: Front Squat Form Check

Default Front Squat Form Check

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    http://youtu.be/tmZFl9JihhE

I just started doing these. It just feels really awkward now. Sorry for the quality of the video. Things I noticed were I should unrack it better and my right foot doesn't seem aligned with my left foot while squatting.

Any help on this please?

I'm no expert on front squats, but an obvious problem is that you are looking up. Maintain a neutral neck, which for the front squat means looking more or less straight ahead.

Sorry I didn't have a good camera with me so this is what I got. I can take another video if needed. It just feels like the weight is going to fall over, that's why I look up. Placement feels awkward too.
    Last edited by lmram; 02-06-2015 at 12:38 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by lmram View Post
    It just feels like the weight is going to fall over, that's why I look up. Placement feels awkward too.
    Sounds like you need to keep your elbows and chest up more to create a stable shelf on your anterior deltoids for the bar to rest on. Have you read the section of the book on the front squat?

The short story is, do like Cao Lei.