starting strength gym
Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Babu's log

Default Babu's 5/3/1 log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey all, thought I'd start my log after much advising/pestering from forum member Sami to do so.

I'm Hari, I'm 18 and I'm a med student living in South London. I'm 5' 10 and weigh 67.5 kg/149 lb right now, although I constantly weighed in at around 61 - 63 before so I'm a pretty skinny little runt. I heard about SS from Sami a while back, maybe around March or so. At the time, I wasn't interesting in getting stronger; a friend and I were planning on a little mountain trek next year and it meant a lot of endurance training but for various reasons it got called off so I thought I may as well give SS a shot. I started it properly about 3 weeks ago. I had started a few weeks prior to that but I was fucking around a little, and then I left halls so I couldn't use my university gym and had to look for one at home, so resumed it about 2 weeks later with a bit of deloading and I've just been going from there. Can't really remember what I started at but here's where I'm at as of Friday:

Squat: 82.5 kg 3 x 5 (fairly difficult)
    Bench: 55 kg 3 x 5 (not too hard)
    Deadlift: 80 kg 1 x 5 (I was supposed to do 95 kg on Friday, but I did one rep and my back started hurting loads so gave myself a bit of time and went down to 80kg; back was hurting afterwards but it's fine now; not really sure what happened, possibly bad form; when I did 90 the time before, it wasn't too hard)
    Press: 40 kg 5 x 3 (pretty hard)
    Power Clean: 47.5 3 x 5 (also pretty hard)

In terms of eating, I don't really keep a tab on calories but I think I eat about 6000 on days I work out and perhaps 4 - 5k otherwise? I'm not quite doing GOMAD but I drink between 4 - 6 pints of whole milk every day (6.7 pints in a US gallon so not too bad surely?).