starting strength gym
Page 1 of 63 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: Platus's Log

Default Platus's Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I met Strength Mill contributor K.Diesel at the local Y a few weeks ago and his helpful advice convinced me that I should make more of an effort to be involved in both the local and online lifting communities. So, henceforth, I will be posting my workout results on the Mill.

I all but ceased regular exercise while in college and grad school, so I have started back from a pretty detrained state. I've been doing SS properly for about 3 months (and improperly, at home w/out a rack or bench, for two months prior to that). The results are as follows:

height: 5'10"
    weight: 150 --> 185
    bf% (caliper measurements): 22% --> 15%

PR's:
    squat (3x5) 120 --> 240
    deadlift: (1x5) 180 --> 315
    press: (3x5) 110 --> (1x3) 140
    bench: (3x5) 120 --> 170
    powerclean: (5x3) 95 --> 145

I am planning to continue SS through the novice progression and begin using TM for intermediate progression (my press stalled about a month ago and I have already been doing TM for it). I have some interest in doing some recreational powerlifting once my numbers get more respectable. Based on my lousy vertical jump (19") and my history of mediocre sports performance, my expectations of my potential are rather low. But, I think competition would be a fun source of motivation.

By early 2010, I would like to see my 1RM's get close to:

squat: 275
    deadlift: 350
    bench: 190
    press: 155
    powerclean: 170

9/2/09: