starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Training Down Under (sadly, gravity is not reversed).

Default Training Down Under (sadly, gravity is not reversed).

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    G'day Guys and Gals

Tom's the name, I'm 20 years old and currently live in Sydney, Australia. I've been training for 3-4 years and unfortunately only the in 2009 did I finally become more consistent with training (diet is still iffy haha).

I did Crossfit for about 6-7 months at the start of the year and then decided to leave it for a focus on strength training. I've been training consistently for strength for about 10 weeks now and am loving it.

Current Stats
    Height: 180cm (6foot)
    Weight: 98-100kg(215-220lbs)

Best Lifts:

Squat - 135kg(295lbs) x 1
    Bench - 85kg(185lbs) x 1 *paused*
    Deadlift - 160kg(350lbs) x 1
    Press - 62.5kg(137.5lbs) x 1
    Power Clean & Jerk - 85kg(185lbs)
    Power Snatch - 65kg(142.5lbs)

Goals (by 31/6/10):
    Squat - 142.5kg(315lbs) x 5
    Bench - 102.5kg(225lbs) x 5
    Deadlift - 185kg(405lbs) x 5
    Press - 70kg(155lbs) x 5
    Clean & Jerk - 102.5kg(225lbs) x 1
    Snatch - 80kg(175lbs) x 1

Current Issues
    - Need to increase my flexibility / mobility
    - Need to get stronger
    - Need to lose some of the fat that I'm carrying that does nothing to aid my performance.
    - Get and stay injury free (stuffed right wrist & sore right shoulder atm)
    Last edited by TomV; 11-16-2009 at 05:04 AM.

Tom's Texas Method

Monday
    Olympic Lift A 5x2
    Squat 5x5
    Pressing Movement A 3x5
    Deadlift 1x5

Wednesday
    Olympic Lift B 5x2
    Back Squat 2x5 *Light Reps*
    Chinups 5x?
    Pressing Movement B *Light*

Friday
    Olympic Lift A 3x2
    Back Squat 1x5
    Pressing Movement A 1x5
    Bent Row 1x5
    5-10 Minutes Conditioning Work

Notes
    Olympic Lift A = Clean & Jerk
    Olympic Lift B = Snatch