starting strength gym

Thread: Finding a Strength Coach

Default Finding a Strength Coach

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey there! Total Novice here in the Salem, Oregon area. (Unless you count a few months back in 2000 on some exercise machines haha)

Like most on this forum, I've read SS several times, it's excellent.
    That said, ultimately I'm a kinesthetic learner and really want to find a strength coach to train with. So far this has proven difficult.

I know that the SS certified coach directory is supposed to be coming up on here in 2010 but frankly I'd really love it if I could find somebody before then. No time like the present.

I'm also curious what sort of calories I should be shooting for when I start training. I know I should get like 1-2g protein/lbm, but I see people on here eating 4,000, 5,000+, and I know about GOMAD, but is 4,000kcal for me right?

In case you're wondering about my very sad stats they are:
    male
    height:5'8"
    weight:160 lbs
    bf %: %20 (128 lean 32 fat-- home body fat test w/measuring tape)

Any help, ideas, and suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Regarding a coach/trainer:

Try the USA Weightlifting site and look for a local club (under resources). There should be a contact name. I found a great coach through this process. The link below should take you where you need to go.
    http://weightlifting.teamusa.org/pages/1808 (WFS)

Another option would be to visit a local college. If it has a decent athletic program they probably have a strength coach who might help you or else might be able to give you a few names.

Hope this helps.

Awesome, thank you so much, good idea :-)

I am guessing perhaps that the lack of responses to my question about how many calories I should be consuming to pack on the muscle is because it has perhaps already been discussed ad nauseam?