starting strength gym
Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Chris' SS log

Default Chris' SS log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi all,

First, thanks to Rip for the great book and all the people posting here with critique, it's been really helpful to me starting out.

I'm a 30 yr old man who's struggled with strength his whole life. I'm 5'11.5", 185 lbs, probably 20% BF. I'm pretty sure I have the genetics to be strong, since my father and brother are both ripped and I have a cousin who competes in powerlifting. They all take after my dad's side though, and I take after my mom (where the chubby genes come from, sorry mom!)

I picked up SS last month and read it through, and for the past 2 weeks I've been practicing my form. I've been working out off and on with weights for almost 3 years but I've never been able to get strong because of my reluctance to eat big. I'm a developer (computer programmer) by trade, and I came out of college obese and weak, and now I'm just chubby and weak. Aiming to change that.

I followed the instructions in the book to set my starting weights last week. Here's where I am now, where my form stays good but the reps start to slow at 5:

Squat: 105 lb
    BP: 105 lb
    Deadlift: 135 lb
    Press: 65 lb
    Clean: 60 lb

Yes those are really low, but that just means I have a lot of room to grow! I'm pretty sure my biggest weakness right now is my core/lower back, which keeps me from being able to support much weight on the bar.

First official workout is today after work. Hopefully there isn't a large queue for the squat racks.

i'll bet you won't have much of que in the rack--unless of course some guy and his brahs are working teh gunz.

good luck on the workout and be sure to post up results.

Was tempted to tell a tale of true brohemian silliness, but perhaps not. Don't be discouraged by low numbers. We all start low.