starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: aches and pains??

Default aches and pains??

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi all,

Newbie here. I'm an older chick (45)-been lifting for years but started doing SS about 3 months ago-making great progress. Love this style of training. One thing-I am developing so many aches and pains especially in my knees. Is this common? Any suggestions? Am reading SS and Practical Programming. There are some days I just hurt all over. I guess it is just part of the aging process?

Sounds more like form issues to me. Try taking a video of your squats.

It could be improper depth, knees caving in on the way up, knees coming forward and weight shifting to the toes. Since you're a masters lifter, I'm curious to the amount of time you spent warming up. I want to suggest knee sleeves to keep warmth in your knees joints, but considering your knees are uninjured, I don't think they would be neccessary.

Also, a video would shine much light on what could be the problem.

There are so many factors to consider here that any suggestions we could make would just be wild speculation.

Videos of you lifting are the first order of business, along with some stats. Then, we'd have to look at whether you're sleeping enough/getting quality sleep, is your diet dialed in, and after all of that, maybe then consider whether age is an issue (meaning recovery takes longer for you and that a 2-day-a-week program might work better)? But again, without the answers to any of these questions, no one can really say.

Even given that you're doing everything exactly as you should be, some aches and pains will accompany rigorous training.

-Stacey

Quote Originally Posted by Mr.City View Post