starting strength gym
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Strato's Pursuit of Strength

Default Strato's Pursuit of Strength

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    First things first: 27 years old, 6'5", 210 lbs, ~10% bodyfat.

I've been training for several years with terribly screwed up priorities. Not until recently, after reading Ripp's books, 70sbig.com, and this forum, did I realize what I was missing by not sticking to the basics, lifting heavy, and training for strength. I'm ashamed to say I'm no stronger now than I was back in my college days. For too long I've been way too concerned with my abs.

So, the plan is to finally train to get strong. I've been doing the Starting Strength program for the past 2 weeks. Eating enough to support the linear progression, but good quality food (meat, milk, cheese, eggs, veggies, fruit, nuts, etc.). At this point, I'm not doing GOMAD. I plan to gradually increase calories as my lifts and bodyweight go up. In other words, as needed to support the linear progression. If that means in a few weeks it's time for GOMAD, then so be it.

Here is my workout log so far:

11/23/2009
    Starting Bodyweight: 208 lbs
    Squat: 175x5x3
    Press: 105x5x1 (screwed up trying to figure out my starting weight)
    Chins: BWx10, 10, 8

11/25/2009
    Squat: 185x5x3
    Bench: 175x5x3
    Deadlift: 255x5x3 (double overhand grip)

11/27/2009
    Squat: 195x5x3
    Press: 105x5x3
    Pullups: BWx10, 10, 11

11/30/2009
    Bodyweight: 209 lbs
    Squat: 205x5x3
    Bench: 180x5x3
    Power Clean: 145x3x5

12/2/2009
    Squat: 215x5x3
    Press: 110x5x3
    Chins: BWx11, 9, 9

12/4/2009
    Squat: 225x5x3
    Bench: 185x5x3
    Deadlift: 275x5x1 (double overhand grip)