starting strength gym

Thread: Neophyte getting his strength on

Default Neophyte getting his strength on

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Quick intro:
    26 year-old male. 175cm (5’10”), 79kg (174 lbs). Currently doing Starting Strength with added dips and chins at the end.

I’ve been working out more or less (95%) 3 times per week since the beginning of September (aside from 1 rest week). Before that point, I had a month where I ran around the gym like a headless chicken, accomplishing very little. Before that again, I’ve had no weight lifting experience, and no regular athletic activity.

I’m currently studying abroad, but will be going home before Christmas. I foresee no problems continuing my current regime at home. If anything, nutrition will be much easier. There, I cook every day. Here, it’s just not feasible, and the food is pretty damn oily (but delicious). I haven't been on a diet, to say the least.

That said, I’ve gone up 4-5kg since I started, keeping the same waist measurement – and I carry pretty much all of my fat on my waist and torso. I’ve always put on weight easily. Hopefully that also translates into putting on muscle easily!

My starting (4th of Sept) and current (12th of Dec) stats are:
    Squats 70kg (154 lbs) / 115kg (253 lbs) (stalled)
    Shoulder Press: 35kg (77 lbs) / 55kg (121 lbs) (very stalled)
    Bench Press: 50kg (110 lbs) / 75kg (165 lbs) (very stalled)
    Dead lift: 60kg (132 lbs) / 150kg (330 lbs)
    Power Clean: 40kg (88 lbs) / 60kg (132 lbs) (stalled)

As you can see, I’m well and truly stalled. I haven’t tried a 1RM max yet.