starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Coveting Master Novice Weakling Squat Form Check

Default Coveting Master Novice Weakling Squat Form Check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Well I now know what it means to covet. AC and crew at 70s big and Gary and others here make it look so easy, plus they are so freaking strong.

I've been working on form for 6 months. Hopefully this isnt 15 poor examples of squatting. Please forgive the excitiment at the end.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q27IKYvcFtY

Your knees are sliding forward at the bottom. The second set looks better, but try putting your knees forward during the first part of the descent

you're a tad high, but otherwise I think that's a pretty good squat.

guys?

Good work, drecar, and welcome.

After your first set, you were squatting too shallow. Need at least another inch to satisfy depth.

Work on getting the knees forward sooner. During the 1st one third of the movement, get your knees to their forward-most point and keep 'em there through the remainder of the rep. This will have your hips and knees breaking at the same time.

Now, you're not getting any "bounce" out of the bottom because of how slow your descent is. This is going to take some practice, but you're going to have to drop more quickly to take advantage of the stretch reflex--maybe over the course of a 2-count. Getting more depth will help with this as well.

Kudos on your lifting. It's obvious you've been working hard.

-Stacey

Quote Originally Posted by drecar View Post
    Please forgive the excitiment at the end.
    You EARNED the right to be excited. I'll leave comments on your form to the more experienced members of this forum, but I will say this - there ain't a guy at either of the 2 gyms where I go that even comes close to the depth that you are squatting (except for me, of course ). And, to be perfectly honest, I probably cheat a bit on depth as I get tired.