starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: squat fail with only squat stands

Default squat fail with only squat stands

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi everyone!

I'm new to SS, carry on a few months on it and I still have some time to go before I break the untrained barrier (as per the PP strength standards).

My question is, how do you fail 'relatively safe' a squat with only squat stands. So far I've learned to fail it 'relatively safe' when I'm at the bottom, I drop the bar backwards without a problem. The problem for me comes when I've already managed to pull up but I lose balance.

Does anyone has experience on this? videos would be nice? I guess what you have to do is make the bar pass over your head, but rather quickly. I almost did it the other day, but out of need, as a reflex. The problem is the bar still rested for a (very) short time over my neck.

Thank you in advance, and happy holidays,

Toad,

More details:

I'm using high bar style, squat stands and bumper plates.

I'm 29, 56kg. 5X3 PR SQ 65kg. 5PR DL 77.5kg. Never trained before.

That is a very poor guess. If you get stuck, the last thing you want to do is try to then press the bar back over your head while simultaneously dropping down. What if you miss, where does that leave the bar? Sitting on top of your head while your face makes contact with the ground. If you fail, the bar always goes backwards (behind you) while you hopefully go forward. Try searching youtube for videos. You could always buy or make a pair of sawhorses as well, but realize it is not an ideal solution.
    Last edited by gman; 12-24-2009 at 11:27 AM.