starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: wdkrnl's log

Default wdkrnl's log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello Everyone,

I'm a completely novice lifter. I've never done any weight training before in my life until 7 weeks ago when I got my copy of Starting Strength in the mail. Since then I've been hitting the gym 3x a week with religious consistency. However, I haven't yet added power cleans to my workouts. I know they are really important so I'm making learning them my top priority. I've just got the BBT DVD in the mail as well, so hopefully I can get it learned pretty quickly.

I'm 23 years old, weigh 200 lb and am 6' 2" tall. I'm probably at a really high bodyfat percentage. I store a lot of visible fat in my chest, midsection, hips, and butt. I lack a good deal of flexibility and have a protruding butt and stomach. I believe it to be a rather severe case of hyperlordosis.

I have been having trouble progressing on presses but squats and deadlifts have been going up very consistently.

Right now I'm at:

SQ: 195#
    DL: 215#
    PR: 85#
    BP: 140#
    PC: Not yet

I can do 3\3\3 chin ups right now and only 1 pull up.

Today I did squats, deadlifts, standing presses at the relevant above numbers. I'll try to get some videos up of my form on all the exercises as soon as possible.

Worked out today before new years party. Deadlift went up 10 lb but squat stalled due to poor form leading to rounded back. I think I'm going to deload until I feel comfortable that I'm not going to hurt my back. Bench press is still stalled at 140# . I can do 8 reps with it though. I'm hoping next time to make it.

Okay... I'm back to being more regular. End of vacation was pretty hectic. Anyway,

Monday:

Squat 175# 5/5/5
    Bench 145# 5/3/5
    Deads 235# 1x5

Wednesday (Today):

Squat 185# 5/5/5
    Press 95# 5/5/4
    Deads 245# 1x5