starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Squat form check

Default Squat form check

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I've had serious trouble with Squats. I can't get the form right, and I kept stalling in the 165-175 lb range. I'm 6'0", 175 lbs, and I've been squatting three times per week for about six months now. I can't seem to push through. I recently learned that I was "sitting down" instead of "sitting back," which apparently takes hamstrings out of the lift. After attempting to sit back, I realized my hamstrings were really tight, so I had to undergo a massive deload.

Old Squats:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUWl8R5z8D4
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2aOWZNOE70o

Squats exaggerating sitting back:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LNTNY2usw54
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xpfz5ASmGgU

Recent, after deload:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zu-CMWH0l8Q
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=29IgIYL7_Sk

I don't know what's right, if anything. Also, squats are always really stressful on my lower back. Even at 100 lbs, my back was exhausted.

Whats your diet like? Do you have any flexibility issues? Your back could stand to be a little tighter for the whole lift. Bring those elbows up and back more so that your back is tighter.

Just kinda hard to believe that your lift has been stuck like this for so long...

About the stalling: diet is suspect here. If you've been lifting for 6 months and weigh that little, then you're simply not eating enough. In Rip's latest article, he talks about a novice who gained 55 pounds in 11 weeks (2 and a half months). How many calories/grams of protein are you consuming per day?