starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dead lift, programming, primary, can't, unable, squat

Default Dead lift, programming, primary, can't, unable, squat

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I was reading this thread, and Rip had a pretty good idea for me because I can't squat (motorcycle accident limits mobility of one knee).

http://startingstrength.com/resource...ead.php?t=7393

Rip from 01-31-2008:
    "An interesting situation, in many ways. If I were you, I'd just make deadlift my primary lift. I'd vary the reps and sets, and don't try to program it in a linear fashion like squats. Go to a weekly programming that has you PR every Monday and Friday on the different reps. It won't work as well as the squat, but it will be better than nothing."

I can deadlift because the knee is OK at higher angles. I'm unsure of how best to follow his advice on that. I'm just beginning, and on my 4th workout. I have the books (SS & PracProg), just unsure how best to program this. Any help?

Thanks!
    Matt
    Last edited by DemonThrust; 01-11-2010 at 09:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by DemonThrust View Post
    I was reading this thread, and Rip had a pretty good idea for me because I can't squat (motorcycle accident limits mobility of one knee).

http://startingstrength.com/resource...ead.php?t=7393

Rip from 01-31-2008:
    "An interesting situation, in many ways. If I were you, I'd just make deadlift my primary lift. I'd vary the reps and sets, and don't try to program it in a linear fashion like squats. Go to a weekly programming that has you PR every Monday and Friday on the different reps. It won't work as well as the squat, but it will be better than nothing."