starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Starting wearing a belt...

Default Starting wearing a belt...

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    ...and it is messing me all up on squats.

What the heck? I feel like i'm stronger during them, but it's like my form just tries to break down when squatting with it.

Obviously it is just because i'm not used to it, but how do I solve this problem? I don't want to keep squatting heavy(230 is heavy for me) if my form is gonna blow.

The belt should make form easier to maintain. Are you pushing out with your abs?

Bah, I dunno.

Maybe it is just distracting the hell out of me since i've never used one before.

Also, it is one of those crappy ass leather belts that is narrower on the side. I was only able to find one belt that was solid all the way around but it was a medium. My big ass ain't fittin' in that. So I was forced to buy this one until I can afford to get a good one.

Default I just got a belt too...

I just started wearing a belt too; Gary won the argument.

I've got to wear it really, really loose or it screws me up. Practice will improve me, I'm sure, but for now...

Try loosening it until it's comfortable squatting a couple of plates. Tighten it one notch next time, and so on.

First things first: make sure the belt is in the right place. Put the belt on somewhat loose and do some bodyweight squats, trying to maintain good form. The belt will move to a certain location. Tighten it up a bit, but not super tight, and add some weight, to the bar, e.g. go to 95lbs or 135lbs. Do a set there, see if the belt moves. If it does, repeat. If not, remember that spot, get the belt tight, and practice.

Quote Originally Posted by JCavin View Post
    ...and it is messing me all up on squats.

What the heck? I feel like i'm stronger during them, but it's like my form just tries to break down when squatting with it.