starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dastardly Deadlift..

Default Dastardly Deadlift..

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I already put this question to Rip but he didnt have time to assess it fully, and now he is out of town. Id appreciate some input in how I can overcome this same issue which keeps causing my deadlifts to stall at the same point

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Ive been deadlifting for many months now. I was doing the stronglifts programme as I did not know about SS yet.

Deadlifts in that programme are also one set of five, every other training day.

I switched to starting strength this year, and regretted not having found it earlier.

My deadlift had been stuck around the 110-115kg mark during the past 2-3 months. The difficulty in my progress stemmed around the most awkward part of the lift for me.

My starting position involves a very horizontal back position, when I am in this position it is very difficult for me to create a tight back arch, and then additionally maintain this near horizontal back angle till the bar passes the knees.

I did a small reset from 100kg down to 90kg, then when I got stuck at 110kg I made a big reset to 85kg. At the end of last year I was stuck at 115kg struggling to get 5 reps (inevitably doing 3 then 2 reps) Form had as always gotten a little sloppy soon as things got challenging.

I reset to 100kg to begin SS but now realise I shouldve gone lower. It has only been a couple deadlift sessions (am now on 110kg) but my back is not looking tight enough anymore.

Here are examples of most recent deadlifts:

First warm up set 60kg: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9JgBk0sk8RA
    warm up set obviously has the best form I can manage, if there is a problem in that I am obviously fucked.

Work Set 110kg: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxpsNVR0mzM

(apologies, not the best quality or viewing distance)