starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sleep Apnea from Weight Gain Affecting Recovery?

Default Sleep Apnea from Weight Gain Affecting Recovery?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi all,

5 years ago I was 225 pounds, ~30% BF, I tore my ACL, got it repaired and rehabbed, and then got my weight down to 160. I snored a lot back then, and my wife is positive that I had sleep apnea back when I was fat.

Since late November 2009 I've put on about 30 pounds, 20 of which I put on while on the SS program (I decided to eat like I was training when I was reading the book before I started training).

Lately my wife has noticed that I've started snoring again, but worse, the sleep apnea has returned.

I've been eating like crazy and doing 1/2 to 3/4 GOMAD to keep the gains coming but during the last 2 weeks I don't feel like I've been getting enough restorative sleep. This morning I woke up with a crazy headache and really tired, and I'm wondering how that'll affect my workout tonight.

Should I slow down my eating until I get my BF% down? It's around 20% to 22% It sucks that the 2 recovery modalities seem to be at odds with one another.

My wife recently told me the same thing. (Last year I dropped about 20-25 pounds, and I've now put them all back by eating big while doing SS.) But I hadn't thought about the effect on recovery. I'm interested to hear replies.

Lack of sleep does a lot of bad things to the body and sleep apnea causes a host of problems. Time to lean out a bit.

Lyle

Isn't leaning-out only a band-aid solution?

Have you tried those contoured pillows which can alter the neck/head positions?

No, since sleep apnea is massively related to being fat. Some of it is from the inflammation secondary to obesity, some of it is physical, the neck fat pressing on the throat.

A male needn't be a big fat ass to get strong and 20-22% is fat ass for a male.

Lyle