starting strength gym

Thread: 531

Default 531

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    What is this program? I have never seen it layd out.

Buy the damned ebook or do a search, it's been laid out many times before on other sites.

It's the best $20 you'll probably ever spend on a program, worth every penny and then some. Buy the book.

http://www.flexcart.com/members/elit...d=370&pid=2976

I've been doing it for over a year now and I've never had better gains all around for my squat and deadlift since I was a beginner. It's well worth buying the book.

Is it for beginners, intermediates or advanced? Is it to be usedin place of SS?

Quote Originally Posted by Smack View Post
    Buy the damned ebook or do a search, it's been laid out many times before on other sites.

Why the hostility? Relax.

Quote Originally Posted by rockyshaun View Post
    Is it for beginners, intermediates or advanced? Is it to be usedin place of SS?
    It's advertised to be for all experience levels. I personally found that I was not lifting heavy enough weights (except for deadlift) to require the length of recovery the program prescribes. IOW, it calls for each exercise to be performed once per week at varying volumes/intensities. Without adding alot of assistance work, I felt that I wasn't stressing my muscles enough.

That being said, I made steady progress for the months I was on the program, and would have continued to make progress if I had stayed with it. I hurt my elbow so I had to lay off the upper body work for a few weeks and with that, decided to start more of a Texas Method to get more volume in.

Once I'm doing heavier weights and progress is harder, I will most definitely switch back.

As a frame of reference, my lifts (at 170 lbs BW) are:
    Squat 250 x 5
    Deadlift 370 x 1
    Bench 240
    Push Press 160 x 3