starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Magnetotail's training log

Default Magnetotail's training log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Thought it might be helpful to keep a log here, making it easier to get feedback when things start stalling again. Plus, it's a good reference for me to look back at.

I started training about 2 years ago, doing typical bodypart split things, stuff that was giving me some progress, but nowhere near the progress I could have been making. Did one of Joe DeFranco's Westside programs for a while, made some decent gains on that. Then finally got round to properly doing Starting Strength around November 2009. I've come a long way since I started, I was initially around 66kg at 6 feet tall, very very skinny. Numbers from my last two workouts are as follows:

Height: 183cm
    Current BW: 88.4kg

3x5 Squat: 155kg
    3x5 Bench Press: 97.5kg
    3x5 Press: 57.5kg
    1x5 Deadlift: 180kg
    3x5 Chin Ups: BW + 16kg

I did cleans for a while, reaching 3 reps at 90kg, but never felt confident in my form. I was wasting more time nailing down form on an exercise I didn't enjoy than I felt was worth it, so I just dropped them. Maybe one day I'll come back to them.

Eating is my downfall, in that I'm the fussiest eater I know - I just don't really like food. Not very helpful in trying to lift heavier and heavier weights, but I've managed to gain over 20kg since I started so it's not all bad. I manage about 4500-5000 calories on a very good day, nearer to 3500 on an average day. This is the reason my body weight has started to stall, though my progress in the gym hasn't (yet). I'd be nowhere without GOMAD.

Next session is tomorrow.

Default Monday 01/02/2010

Overhead Press:
    3x5 - 58.75kg

Chin Ups:
    3x5 - BW +16kg

Weighted Sit Ups:
    3x6 - 24kg