starting strength gym

Thread: Starting out with Starting Strength

Default Starting out with Starting Strength

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello,

Have a question on how much weight to use when starting out with the Starting Strength program. I've just ordered to book and waiting for that to arrive. I'm 28, and 277lbs (Was 282lbs). I have no experience with weights. I do run in the morning for 30 mins before heading to work.

Any suggestions for determining the appropriate what to lift when starting something like this? Any links to any resources would be great. Thanks.

There's a wiki for this that can help you get started until you get the book:
    http://startingstrength.wikia.com/wiki/FAQ:The_Program

Quote Originally Posted by verdisQUO View Post
    Hello,

Have a question on how much weight to use when starting out with the Starting Strength program. I've just ordered to book and waiting for that to arrive. I'm 28, and 277lbs (Was 282lbs). I have no experience with weights. I do run in the morning for 30 mins before heading to work.

Any suggestions for determining the appropriate what to lift when starting something like this? Any links to any resources would be great. Thanks.
    I wouldn't lift until I got the book because you simply will not squat correctly until you read the squat chapter. And you want to squat correctly. Fortunately, the book also tells you how to select your starting weights. The basic idea is that you'll start fairly light and quickly add weight. Your first working weight will be the weight at which bar speed slows down, which might be something like 85# for the squat. But, seriously, read the book. It tells you everything.

Quote Originally Posted by gzt View Post