starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Am I doing too much?

Default Am I doing too much?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I have been lifting weights for about 10 years. I am 30 yrs, 6'5" and about 240lbs. My upper body is strong, at least what I thought was strong, and my lower body weak as hell. I just started squatting after reading Starting Strength.

I did all the "waste of time" fancy exercises in the gym and got quite good at them. It is also very possible that I was doing too much. I have not made any progress in a few years so have been looking to shake up my routine. Basically, adhering to what Mark is teaching is resulting in me starting from scratch (I have never dead lifted, squatted, cleaned and only started pressing a few months ago).

My question:

I just started your program two weeks ago and here is what I am doing:

A - Squat, Bench, Dead Lift, Decline Bench, Row, Dips and Pull ups
    B - Squat, Press, Clean, Shrugs, Curl, Skull Crusher, Chin ups

Am I dong too much? Is this going to hinder my progress? I have that mind-set that more is better. I am thinking that I need to break this habit or I will limit by muscles from their fullest potential.

I appreciate any feedback!

If you have never done the lifts you are a novice. Buy the book and follow the novice program.

maybe if youre a bodybuilder thats good but if you're training for strength then you can only get away with that with roids.

I think you will eventually drop the extra stuff purely due to being exhausted when the weights start getting really hard for you.

My only extra exercises were chins and rows, and now I can't do them after the usual compound movements.

I do understand where you are coming from though.
    I'm from the same background as you and am 3 years older.

so it's hard to break the habit.
    but you have to.