starting strength gym
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Homer's Quest for Strength

Default Homer's Quest for Strength

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Well, I've been doing SS for a few months, and decided to log my stuff here as a means to share and learn. I've never done this before, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Height - 5''10
    Weight - 204lbs
    Age - 28

Lifting Status - Novice
    Program - Practical Programming Novice (also known as Wichita Falls Novice)

Wed 2/17/10

Squat - 290 3x5
    Bench - 200 2x5 (stall on the last set)
    Cleans - 105 5x3

The squat felt a bit high on the last few reps of the 3rd set. I also have a tendency to exaggerate my hip drive, causing me to lean over, and the bar moving away from the mid-foot position. Thinking of widening my stance, and trying to keep my back more vertical. currently resting 7-10 mins b/w sets.

Bench - stalled on the last set, don't know why, I just didn't have any gas. Maybe more rest is needed. Currently rested 5mins b/w sets.

Cleans - felt pretty good, The technique got better with each set, and the last one was pretty spot on.

Nice squat and bench numbers. I'm also 5'10" and about 205, and am 30 and 40 pounds behind you, respectively.

What's up with the cleans? Don't worry too much about form, as more weight should clear up a lot of form issues (at least that's what Rip says in the Q&A section).

I had some inflammation in my arms (referenced in your log) that made cleans difficult to do after squatting and press/bench. Today was my first day on the clean in about 4 weeks, so I'm just slowly getting back into them.

Gotcha. Hope the pain goes away. I just ordered elbow sleeves, so I hope those help me. Keep up the great work. Those squats must be getting real heavy.

Thanks! Elbow sleeves helped me a lot in recovery.