starting strength gym

Thread: Adding Additional Exercises?

Default Adding Additional Exercises?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'm a novice lifter still doing incremental increases and using a A/B program - lifting every other day. (A-squat-bench-deadlift) (B-squat-standing press-power clean). In the Starting Strength book, a later chapter mentions pull-ups, dips, and the use of a Roman Chair for back work.

How/when does a person start to integrate these into their routine?

Quote Originally Posted by stl rick View Post
    I'm a novice lifter still doing incremental increases and using a A/B program - lifting every other day. (A-squat-bench-deadlift) (B-squat-standing press-power clean). In the Starting Strength book, a later chapter mentions pull-ups, dips, and the use of a Roman Chair for back work.

Practical Programming has suggestions for when to include those. But if it ain't broke, I wouldn't try to fix it (i.e. if you're still making fine progress doing things the way that you have been). Then again, adding chins or lower back work might not hurt your progress either. At any rate, you're going to have plenty of questions like this, so purchasing PP isn't a bad idea. Nor is visiting a few of the sites that we name drop around here occassionally.

-Stacey

If you think you really need the extra work, have time, have energy, well, weighted ab work is probably the most useful thing to add at first. Just tack it on the end of your workout. Pullups/chinups are another option, just stick 'em on the end of the workout if you have energy. I think dips can wait, because you're getting worked enough on the presses. If you think they're interfering with your results on the big lifts, cut them out.

Of the 6 core exercises, the bench presses are the toughest so I thought pull ups might help build up some of the "surrounding" muscles.