starting strength gym

Thread: GOMAD Stones

Default GOMAD Stones

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Am I the only one thats dreadfully afraid of calcium stones as a result of GOMAD?

I've been drinking quite a bit of water as well, and I only do GOMAD training days (mon-wed-fri, it's budget reasons, 1 gallon is $5 here, and I'm a student) but I'm still scared that I'm gonna get calcium stones, and from what I've heard I don't want those.

Yes, you are.

If you are worried ask your doctor.

But remember that as someone who is demanding adaptation from your body, you need more of stuff than recommended for sedentary folks.

You need a lot of calcium for it to become harmful. And even if you did, it would be a very slow process of accumulation, you are not going to get really ill all of a sudden.

After a few weeks on GOMAD why not get a blood test from your doctor to check calcium, cholesterol and that sort of thing? Would be good to find out what, if any effects it had?

So it would take a long time to get stones, and 3-4 months of GOMAD, while a lot of milk, isn't long enough for me to develop them?

Quote Originally Posted by Marotta View Post
    So it would take a long time to get stones, and 3-4 months of GOMAD, while a lot of milk, isn't long enough for me to develop them?
    I get the feeling that you know next to nothing about kidney stones. The reason I get this feeling is because if you DID know anything about them, other than the fact that they're composed of calcium crystals, then you wouldn't be asking this question.

Here's a very informative page about kidney stones: http://kidney.niddk.nih.gov/Kudiseas.../stonesadults/

And here are the juicy bits that I picked out just for you: