starting strength gym

Thread: Mixing it up after novice

Default Mixing it up after novice

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    So,

I went on a modified linear progression (1-3 conditioning workouts each week, depending on how I feel) in January, and am pretty happy with my progress. I would guess that I will probably switch to advanced novice here in a few weeks to keep milking it as long as possible (3 days a week heavy lifts is hard to recover from as I approach 40, and I have a military requirement to keep some level of conditioning).

When linear progression ends late this spring/early summer (estimate), I will go back into doing more GPP-style stuff (yes, I @fit, no apologies - I find it fun), but will keep working strength regularly - I like this stuff too! Also, the inclusion of the fast lifts is kind of a desire of mine.

So, here's what I've been thinking - kind of a TM blend with some fast lifts thrown in on the "light" days. Recovery could be tough, but I managed 5 days per week of CFSB before I started linear for about 4 months without any serious issues, so I figure it's possible. General format below.

Sunday (Light lifts) - rotating SN/OHS with BP/SP (one pull/sq with a press) or C&J (pull/Squat and press) and an affiliate WOD - lifts to depend on cycle and programmed WOD for the day.

Monday: Rest Day

Tuesday (Heavy day) - typical TM rotation each week here of A/B plus a <10min GPP (maybe)
    A: BS/SP
    B: PC/DL and BP

Weds: <20 min GPP (selected according to upcoming volume day)

Thu (Volume): A/B rotation each week like Tuesday. NO WOD.

Friday: Rest Day

Saturday: Longish WOD at affiliate (we never lift on Saturday, and it's usually 20-30 minute or high impact WOD, like Fran)