starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Squat and Clean form check

Default Squat and Clean form check

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey, I'm pretty new to both of these lifts. Thanks for any feedback.

Squat: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTLl2jfcHgQ

Power Clean: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=chhyeRi69RU

Thanks again.

Those are decent looking high bar squats, but most folks around here (myself included), would recommend the low bar style. You also could probably add 75 or 100 pounds to that bar and still squat it. Those looked very light for you.

You clean has a few issues. You don't set your back in extension before the pull and your butt is too low. I realize you don't have the proper spacing from the floor without bumper plates, but your setup still needs work. During your pull, you have a tendency to try and move the bar around your knees. You want the bar moving in a straight line. You jump too early (before your hips open all the way) and your arms are often bent when the jump happens. Lastly, you are catching the bar in your hands instead of driving the elbows aggressively up and racking it on your shoulders.

I highly recommend getting a hold of Starting Strength, perhaps both the book and DVD. They deal with theses issues very thoroughly and represent money well spent.

Thanks alot for the feedback.

I'm pretty new to these lifts, so the high bar squat get felt natural to me, I'll try and get it a little lower.

Thanks for all the tips on my clean.

I'm going to be getting the book soon, thanks again.

Is there a problem with high bar squats? I tried to get the bar lower tonight, but just feels awkward.

Squat - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0xVoBatAaiY