starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bench stall in 8th week - suggestions?

Default Bench stall in 8th week - suggestions?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi,

I'm 6 foot, 33, and 14 stone 10 pounds (206 pounds). Started SS mid-April, and am now in my 8th week. (Did 2 months of some internet program last year, but other than that I'm a complete beginner.)

Anyway, having started in april on 50kg, yesterday I failed for the third time at 87.5kg (192.5 pounds) on Bench. I was hoping to be on around 110kg (240 pounds) for 5 x 3 by the time I finish SS, so I'm gutted I've stalled already. Was going up in 5 pound jumps as thought it too early to microload.

1. Do I need to gain weight?
    I put on half a stone quite quickly, but now gaining weight very slowly, if at all. Here's what I ate yesterday:

breakfast: 3 egg, 3 bacon, toast, baked beans
    Lunch / post wo: double whopper with cheese and protein drink
    early dinner: Lamb steak, large salad, small potion of chips
    late dinner: Lamb steak, large salad, small portion of chips
    snacks: bowl of kellogs fruit and fibre cereal with cream; half gallon milk; fruits

That's pretty typical, except just recently I've not been having the whoppers or McDonalds as much. No idea what my bodyfat % is, but my 34 inch jeans are still fine for me.

2. What do I do with my Press, while I'm resetting Bench?
    Got 55kg (121 pounds) 5 x 3 last time on Press. Was planning to just keep adding weight to this but in smaller jumps.

Grateful for any suggestions.

cheers,
    Ben

definitely not too early to microload at 2.5 pounds on bench and press.

take a healthy reset and work back up with 2.5 pound increments. I'll bet you get to your 240 pound bench goal.

Cheers missedspelledgeoff, that's good to hear. I'll do what you suggest and see what happens

Quote Originally Posted by misspelledgeoff View Post