starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Borboski's Log

Default Borboski's Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Ok - after pissing around with different weights I've gradually become more determined and organised in my training. I'm a very tall guy, 6'8", but in my 20s topped 20stone due to poor diet and no exercise. After my wedding I started training, and generally did 4 times a week workout with 6 different lifts, always 1 big compound, with cardio at either end - and got down to about 17 stone.

I play American Football, am now 29, and keen to get as strong as I can - maybe stripping down fat after I try and put some muscle on, but really my priority is to get stronger. I've just done 11 weeks of Defranco's Built Like a Badass I liked sticking to a routine. I had wanted to break a 100kg bench press but unfortunately topped out at 1 rep of 97kgs. I also, despite squatting 160kg max, know that my form is poor and I haven't been squatting very deep.

Finally, I always felt like I was busting my ass lifting weights, but was being inefficient by not eating enough to build muscle. In a sense, it worked, as I've got fitter, and lost weight, and got stronger, but I bet I could have made quicker progress.

So, I'm going to have at least 3 months on starting strength, including eating big. I'm not sure I'm going to go GOMAD, as I'm in my late 20s and while now in good shape, don't feel like the underweight skinny dude this appears to be aimed at. But I figure I'll start by eating A LOT more.

Height: 6'8"
    Weight: I was 107kgs about 18 months ago, I need to weigh myself as I suspect I'm more than that now.

PBs
    Bench: 97kg 1RM 87kg 5RM
    It's not really worth doing PBs for the rest as I've realised I've been cheating on them...