starting strength gym

Thread: Programming Restarts and other ?s

Default Programming Restarts and other ?s

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'm planning on a vacation in August, and due to my circumstances I've chosen to spend the months leading up to that "chilling out" on 5-3-1 (basically maintaining as opposed to trying to make agressive gains). After that I want to go after some goals more agressively.

My first question for the forum is, how do you handle programming after layoffs?

My thinking was to restart Linear Progression with a big offload and try to get back to PR territory or beyond over 6-8 weeks, then to switch to TM until I meet my goals. Of course this will require a commitment to doing what it takes diet and recovery wise as well.

Even though I've been doing the exercises in SS for over 2 years, I've really only "Done the Program" for small fraction of that time. When I was eating enough, etc, I was able to add 40 lbs to my squat in a matter of weeks to get to 3x5x285.

Possible goals for the lifts (by my 48th b-day near the end of February):
    5RM 315 squat (best so far is 3x5x285 which has dropped off a lot during "maintenance")
    5RM 235 bench (best so far is 6x210)
    5RM 145 Press (best so far is 3x5x127.5)
    5RM 350 Deadlift (best so far is 5x305)

Second question, given that I'm an oldster do these goals seem reasonable or too easy?

I didn't see any coaches listed for Colorado Springs in the new directory, does anyone know a coach they like there?

I don't have a goal for power cleans yet because I'm very much form bound. I'd like to see if I can find a good coach early on during linear progression.

Last question, I've never had a coach before so is it worth it making all of these plans until I talk to one or should I get their input first?

Thanks forum!
    Last edited by ColoWayno; 06-13-2010 at 03:14 AM.