starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cookieman's SS Log!

Default Cookieman's SS Log!

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi everyone! I just started weight-lifting about 2 months ago. Luckily for me though, I started off doing a program similar to the practical programming novice program instead of just lounging about in the gym doing random exercises. So far my gains have been pretty decent for the most part and I am happy to see myself progressing with the weights so far.

Just to introduce myself to everyone, I'm a college student at UCSB. I'm going into my sophomore year in the fall, not really sure yet what I want to do with my life. For the majority of my life lived so far, I have not been physically active. I basically just sat around and played World of Warcraft and other games for the majority of high school. The summer before college started though, I decided I didn't want to live the rest of my life in such a sedentary fashion so I took up boxing. Boxing helped me realize that to get to the physical levels that I wanted, I would have to work hard. My life has turned around for the better as now I am involved in Brazilian Jiu-jutsu / Judo.

Stats: 5'6 165 Pounds. I'm guessing 18-22 Percent Body Fat.

Program:
    A B A Week One
    B A B Week Two

A: 3x5 Squat, 3x5 Bench, 2 Sets of Dips To Failure.
    B: 3x5 Squat, 3x5 Press, 1x5 Deadlift, 2 Sets of Chin-ups to Failure.

That's pretty much the program I've been doing. I just switched to 1x5 Deadlift but before I was doing 3x5 Deadlift.

Stats:
    Squat: 210x5x3 (Last workout, easy). Did 220x5x3 3 weeks ago but decided to start at a lower weight due to no lifting/shitty diet during spring break.
    Bench: 135x5x3(Two workouts ago. This was hard) I think it might have to do with the 4 hours of sleep I had the day before and the fact that I didn't eat anything before I lifted.