starting strength gym

Thread: Did I bust my knees?

Default Did I bust my knees?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I hang my head in shame that my first post here is not a success story, but a, "I think I done and broke myself."

Anyways, I have been doing the SS novice routine for the last three weeks. I had been working out machines for several months before this program, until I got smart and realized they were stupid, and gay.

Anyways, Monday I added 10lbs on my squat. I started the program pretty light so I could work out my form, adding 10lbs on Mondays and 5 lbs on Wednesdays and Fridays.

I went up to 175x3x5, after properly warming up of course. I had no trouble doing 165 the Friday previous. However, I busted a nut doing the last rep of the last set, attributing it to probably not waiting long enough between sets. Tuesday I started feeling sore on the outsides of my knee. Usually it was just my ass and legs that felt a little sore. Yesterday I went up to 180 and just figured I would push my way through it. I really had no issues finishing all 3 sets. Definitely not like the last rep from the Monday workout. I really think I am now using my adductors properly since they felt good and sore.

Now today my knees are still sore on the outside. When I tap on them, they feel sore. I'm not referring to the side of the knee cap, but the side of the leg itself. And when I extend my legs completely straight, as if I were stretching, I get a really sore feeling. This is not feeling just like the leg muscle being sore, this is something else.