starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My 5-3-1 routine, any advice?

Default My 5-3-1 routine, any advice?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I've been training for about 7 months, currently on a Texas method type routine. Because of time constraints I will eventually switch to a 5 3 1 type routine. I have access only to a power rack, bench, dumbbels and dip station. I wanted to see if anyone had suggestions, ideas, opinions that might help me design a program. This is what I had in mind so far:

Press Day
    Dips 5x10
    Chinups 5x10-15

Squat Day
    Squats 4x10 (50%)
    RDLS 3x10
    Ab Rolls (using the barbell)

Bench Day
    Dumbbell Bench Press 5x8-12
    Pullups 5x10-15

Deadlift Day
    Deadlift 4x10 (50%)
    Bulgarian Split Squats 4x8-12 (using dumbbels)
    Hanging leg raises 3x15-20

Been training for a total of 7 months? Use a linear programs like 5x5 or Starting Strength. TM and 5/3/1 are slower and less effective for a novice lifter.

Looks like too much work on your lower body days. You're already doing 4 sets of 10.

Goals? Stats?

Stats:
    7 months ago:
    Bodyweight: 160 lbs
    Deadlift: 115x5
    Squat: 95x5
    Bench: 85x5
    Press: 55x5
    Current:
    Bodyweight: 195 lbs
    Deadlift: 295x5
    Squat 245x5
    Bench 155x5
    Press 105x5

I did Starting Strength for 6 months. 1 month on the Texas Method, but I want to give 5-3-1 a shot due to limited time.

My specific target goals within 1 year are:
    Bodyweight: 210 lbs.
    Deadlift: 365
    Squat: 275
    Bench: 185
    Press: 135

My general goal is just to get stronger using my time as efficiently as possible. I can't spend over 1 hour training.