starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bang for the Buck

Default Bang for the Buck

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I've been reading "Science and Practice of Sport Training" by Zatsiorsky and "Special Strength Training" by Verkhoshansky this week and thinking about how I can develop my strength program on purpose.

For the last two years I have simple adopted cookie cutter programs. Starting Strength/Advance Novice, DC, and now 5/3/1 with varying degrees of success.

As I am NOT an athlete programming for events and sporting seasons isn't what drives me. I've got this generic objective of bigger, stronger, harder to kill in no particular order.

I've gotten much bigger and stronger but I'd be pretty easy to kill.

What I find myself wondering is whether it might not be most beneficial to program for the most reward for the least effort in any one macro-cycle while attempting to simply maintain the other general strength characteristics.

For example my limit strength is very slow to move as I've got it solidly into the intermediate range. My conditioning however sucks donkey dick and I am winded very easily. I'm also slow. While I can move fairly heavy weight my ability to explode is genuinely poor. And not terribly surprisingly my endurance is weak.

Similarily the effort of losing 20 pounds of fat would be about the same effort as putting on 2 pounds of muscle but the effect of losing 20 pounds of fat would generally be better.

Is there a reason that we don't program to reduce weaknesses rather than develop strengths? It seems like return on effort might be significantly higher if one maintained at least an intermediate level of General Strength characteristics rather than attempting to achieve advanced/elite special strength skills without a baseline of the other strength characterics.