starting strength gym

Thread: Resume Training? - Virus Infection

Default Resume Training? - Virus Infection

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello,

It seems like I have some virus infection (very sore throat, aching sinuses, cold, body feels hot like glowing, slight fever).
    I started SS on Wednesday and I'm wondering if I can resume the training tomorrow as long as I don't have any fever.
    I know that sports can be dangerous when being sick, but I heard from other sources that it can be good as long as you don't have any fever. I had temperatures up to 100F, so nothing dramatically.

I'm a novice and it would be quite disappointing for me and my training partner if I would have to take a break now.

i would wait until your temp is back to normal. increased body temp is a good thing.

training not only affects your musculature system, but also can affect your nervous and immune systems. i would wait until your temp is back to normal. you may risk prolonging the infection.

I don't think your are going to do any damage by training one session with a mild bug. And I can see the argument for wanting to maintain momentum for you and your training partner. Unless I felt like a steamy pile of dogshit, I'd go ahead and train.

i have traditionally trained when ill with little illnesses.. the superstition of "sweating it off" has helped me out. and i never really found training to be adversely affected. mind you... i am not referring to SS linear progression, but what i used to do a lot of-- which involved a lot of anaerobic-interval style conditioning, with high heart rates and whatnot. i never died or got seriously ill from this.
    although, several (un)knowledgeable individuals warned me about getting an arrythmia or something, it never happened. i guess i stress tested myself and i am OK.