starting strength gym
Page 1 of 36 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Training Between a Rock and a Hard Place.

Minnesota Raised, Live in California now.

Default Training Between a Rock and a Hard Place.

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    All right folks, my name is John. I'm an EOD Technician in the Marine Corps, and I've gotten my lazy ass back in the gym. I bought SS, PP, and Starr's SSS years back and used them successfully until my best lift was a 400 pound deadlift. I lost sight of my goals after many moves, setbacks, and deployments.

Fast forward to the present. After getting injured through the right scapula during a recent deployment, I found I was pathetically weak after healing. Now I've got a scar on my back that looks like a stitched up vagina-great... Upon my return to the gym two months ago, I went back to what I knew of- Squats, Deadlifts, and OHP/Bench...and the all important Marine Corps Pull Up.

I've been training for two months now while still in Afghanistan. My SS and PP books are back at home, so I'll have to wait until I get home to implement the program but here are my current numbers:

Bodyweight: 205
    Height: 5' 10'

Deadlift: I did 225 for 15 reps with good form so...365 1rm? We'll see.
    Squat: 260
    Bench: 235
    OHP: 155
    Power Cleans: Unknown, the barbell I use isn't trustworthy enough for that.
    Over Hand Pull Ups: 17

My training goals are currently:
    Deadlift: 500
    Squat: 350
    Bench: 300
    OHP: 205
    Pull ups: I'll be satisfied with 25 straight.