starting strength gym

Thread: I have tricep tendinitis. Please help!

Default I have tricep tendinitis. Please help!

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    3 orthopedic surgeons, 5 physical therapists, and a lot of research later I discovered I have tricep tendonitis. I'm a 22 year old beginner lifter and I started going to the gym about 3 years ago.

I haven't been able to do any kind of tricep exercise in almost a year. I have a slight snap or pop in my non dominant elbow whenever weight comes down (barbell coming towards chest). The more I lift, the more pain I feel.

Doctors have told me to just rest, but I've been resting for almost a year with no improvement. I have found from research that strengthening my bicep (which was MUCH weaker in comparison to my tricep) can help with recover so I've been doing lots of back/pulling/bicep stuff without trouble.

Do you have any experience with this injury? What would you suggest I try?

Sux..but out of curiosity..
    Palpate about 5cm proximal to your medial epicondyle and see if you can find some really tender spots in there.
    You are looking for a thick, tender "spaghetti"

I've been doing some more research today since I WILL NOT accept injuries.
    I found this article and I have downloaded the study and I have to say that it's VERY interesting!
    I'll embark on my own 12week eccentric program for my bi and triceps

Instead of starting a new thread, I thought I'd just resurrect this one.

I've been having soreness in my triceps for about 2 months now. I took a full week off, PVC rolled, used a lacrosse ball to work out the knots in my triceps. While the knots are smaller/softer, they are still there and it's affecting my bench press the most.

Presses feel ok for the most, but it does hurt when I lock my elbows up top.

Any ideas on how to hit tricep trigger points with a lacrosse/golf ball?

homerj,