starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Back To Starting Strength

Default Back To Starting Strength

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'm going to keep this log nice and simple, without too much analytical verbiage and the like. I have always kept a paper journal but never an online log, so we’ll see how it goes.

I have been lifting for the last 18 months or so and have made a lot of mistakes, taken a few lay-offs and recovered from a number of injuries during that time. I am now ready to exhaust linear progression completely. I will be essentially following the SS Advanced Novice program, with a few minor adjustments:

• Short intense conditioning after each work out (eg: Prowler sprints, Kettlebell complexes, jump rope, one mile timed runs etc )
    • Dips and curls once a week
    • Pendlay rows instead of power cleans ( I know they aren’t a replacement and I know I should learn to power clean, which I promise I will)

I will be consuming a small caloric surplus to gain a bit of weight while keeping fat gains to a minimum (yeah I’m vain). I am aware that strength gains will be slower as a result and thus I will be micro-loading for the most part. I’m just not prepared to sacrifice my conditioning.

I know that if programmed correctly I can continue running a mile in just over 6 minutes AND maintain decent numbers.

Anyway, first session will be recorded later today after uni.

Default Monday 18/10/10

Reset the four major lifts by about 10% before restarting Starting Strength. Today’s session was as follows:

- Bench: 80kg x 5/5/5
    - Weighted Chin: 12.5kg x 8/8/8 (2.5 minute rest between sets)
    - Squat: 100kg x 5/5/5
    - Pendlay Row: 60kg x 8/8/8 (2.5 minute rest between sets)
    - Core work between lifts
    - Conditioning: Prowler sprints (25 meters x 12 in 8:00 minutes)