starting strength gym

Thread: Jess's Starting Strength Training Log

Default Jess's Starting Strength Training Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello all. I am new to the Starting Strength programming, but have been lifting weights pretty consistently for several years. Up until now, my workouts have been somewhat effective in developing strength, but my focus has never been specifically on strength for long enough to make significant gains and achieve the level of strength that I plan on achieving with this program.

I don't currently play any sports and work in an office 5 days a week, so going to the gym is my main form of physical activity. I like the idea of constantly challenging myself to get stronger. My current goals are to be able to squat and deadlift 315 for 5 reps and go from there. There is no reasoning behind doing 315 on those lifts other than to set a goal for myself to try to reach.

I am a 27 year-old male and weighed 170 lbs when beginning this program four workouts ago. I am using dumbbells for my bench press and press b/c i don't have a spotter for bench or bumper plates that i could drop if necessary, but the gym I go to does have padded flooring in the DB area, so if i drop weights there, it shouldn't be too big of an issue. My starting weights for each exercise are as follows (all weights are in pounds):

Squat: 185
    Bench Press: 120 (remember, i'm using dumbbells here)
    Deadlift: 215
    Press: 90 (using dumbbells, remember?)
    Power clean: 95

During my first workout on 10-11-10 I did the following:

Squat: 135, 155, 3x5x185
    Bench Press: 100, 3x5x120
    Deadlift: 185, 215x1x5