Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My bench (opinions welcome)

Default My bench (opinions welcome)

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Good morning,

I have problems with my bench.
    In short, I am not sure I know what to do. I've been training for almost 18 months now, and I think I've got a pretty clear mental picture of how to perform the other lifts. My weights are totally unimpressive, but at least I am convinced I know what to do when I go under a bar in the squat rack, or how to set-up for a deadlift.

But when I comes to the bench, I still haven't developed a solid, reliable mental pattern for the movement. I find the bench complicated, and I have difficulties keeping track of all the parts of my body involved in the lift.

For this reason, I would be very grateful if people could have a look at my bench videos, and give an opinion on what they see. The videos were shot yesterday, the weight is 160 pounds. I felt they were actually decent sets, an improvement compared to my usually confused sets. But the fact is, I have no idea what a good set feels like, so I'm not really sure yesterday' session was any better than the others.

rear view: http://vimeo.com/16385524
    front view: http://vimeo.com/16385679
    from the right: http://vimeo.com/16385834
    from the left: http://vimeo.com/16385974

Many thanks,

IPB

1) Your head position is too far behind the bar. Eyes should be just in front of the bar. Your head position is putting you too close to the rack when you are pressing.
    2) You need to set up your head position FIRST. Quit fucking around with the tippy-toe crap and all the back arching when you first lie down on the bench. Just relax, get your head in position. THEN grip. THEN foot position and arch (without moving your head from the position you placed it at initially.