starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Krump's SS Training Log

Default Krump's SS Training Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I had a 20 rep log I tended to up until April of this year. I worked up to squating 225x20 but manifested a sore back that put me day-to-day. Under normal conditions this would have been a minor set back, but at the time I was a senior in college, set to graduate in May. I ultimately had to give up my training to make damn sure I did graduate. So I did. Once I graduated I joined AmeriCorps for a 3 month term of service. I spent the summer working in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness and portaged my fair share of heavy-ass packs and canoes and bucked a hell of a lot of trees. It was the hardest job I have ever done, but alas, there are no barbells or squat racks in the BWCAW so I lost some weight and strength.

After my summer stint, I interned at an organizing firm for a couple months before taking the leap to follow my heart and pursue practicing sustainable agriculture. I found a year-long AmeriCorps program that would make this possible. I moved from Minnesota to the Silicon Valley (previously called the Valley of Hearts' Delight during it's agricultural boom period) in late October to work on an 11-acre, educational, organic produce farm. It is a unique place. Normally there would be no way for a farm to exist in the middle of Silicon Vally, but the property was excess land owned by the school district and the community didn't want to see it turned into condominiums. So it became a community farm. It is literally a little farm surrounded by tech companies.

Anyways, for the first time since April, I have stability and a lifestyle that permits me to strength train again! Granted, farming is physical work, but after my summer stint in the BWCAW, I'm not gunna let a little farm work get in the way of my training.