starting strength gym
Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Finally Finishing Linear Progression: An Overdue SS Training Log

Default Finally Finishing Linear Progression: An Overdue SS Training Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    While I've always logged my progress personally, this is the first time I'll be making a shared log. Workouts are getting to the point where every session is a real struggle, and since none of my friends are really lifters it will be nice to have some outlet to share how hard today's squat session was or how exciting it was to (finally) complete a 2 plate squat.

For some history, I started lifting in June 2009, with a program the trainer at the university gym gave me. Lots of machine work and stuff, it didn't take me long to realize it was essentially useless. In August 2009 I started Stronglifts 5x5 with just the bar on every exercise (except the deadlift which I started at 90lbs). Weighed 165lbs, 6'1. Took a 31 waist in jeans, but don't know my actual measurement. Body fat was somewhere around 11%.

By the end of October 2009, by squat was 165lbs, my bench 120lbs, my overhead press 90lbs, and my deadlift (which I kept resetting as I could never get form right) a whopping 95lbs. While not terrible results overall (ignoring the deadlift) considering how ridiculously weak I began (squatting just the bar felt really hard), I decided to switch to a split routine, which got my squats up to 195lbs and my bench to 145lbs, and had no deadlifts by December 2009.