starting strength gym

Thread: On the Road Back to Mediocrity

Default On the Road Back to Mediocrity

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Well, for my first post I will provide any potential readers a brief introduction. I've been training and competing in powerlifting meets for a little over four years now. Started out in multiply, and really liked it; however, after putting a gym in my garage and having to train (almost) exclusively by myself, it just became too cumbersome. Sooooo, I decided to go RAWWWWW and have trained that way ever since.

My best total to date was a 500 squat, 370 bench and 545 deadlift at a svelte 220 pounds, done at an APA meet in November 2009. Unfortunately, that marked my most recent appearance on the platform as everything about my training went into the toilet. I was badly overtrained and then a host of nagging injuries started to pile up. Eventually I got burned out and said to hell with it and took some time away from powerlifting. I tried my hand at olympic lifting and although I liked it, it didn't have the same appeal to me as powerlifting. Pretty soon the urge came back, but I was not consistent enough with my training to regain much of the strength that I had lost.

I was aware of PPST and on a whim I decided to buy the Kindle version of the book about a month ago. Best thing I have done in quite a while. For the past three weeks I've been following a fairly standard version of the Texas Method as outlined in the book. Even though I'm trying to stay on the conservative side with the weights I'm using (so I don't beat myself into the ground in rapid fashion) I am getting back some strength. The road back will be a long one, but I'm committed and have targeted an APA meet in Philly on April 9th. I'd like to post at least a 1400 total @ 220, but honestly I just want to compete again.