starting strength gym
Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How to Make a Nuclear-Powered Robot Shark

Default How to Make a Nuclear-Powered Robot Shark

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Two people bugged me about not having a log. It might have been three people. So, this here is going to be my very own training log. But I didn't do anything today but work, loaf, and drink a lot, so the real log starts tomorrow.

I've been dinking around with SS for about two years, with varying degrees of commitment and success. A lot of time was spent laboring with poor form, inadequate gear (no shoes, no belt, no bumper plates, shitty bar), inadequate nutrition, and training interrupted every few months by a month or more off. In the past year, I have become steadily more focused and proficient, finally legitimately exhausting my novice gains, and flirting with a sort of semi-novice bastardization of the Texas Method that I lovingly call the Oregon Method as I try to milk a little more relatively uncomplicated gains out of my training, without introducing the time demands of 5x5 sets. I train twice a week, sometimes three times; it's about as often as I can muster without straining the rest of my life too much, and allowing me not to stress out about the lifting, and just do it when I can, which has allowed me to settle into a kind of casual non-rhythm with it.

The basics are thus:
    I was born in 1976, which means as I write this in 2010, I am 34. The latter is subject to change annually.
    I am about 5'11"
    I started SS at around 170lbs, and am currently a healthy 210.

Lifts are as follows:
    Squats started at 90lbs, if I recall correctly, and peaked at 335 (5,5,4); they're currently back at 315 (3x5) and feeling pretty good, but I doubt I'll surpass 335, or if I do, not by much.