starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Strength decreasing over time

Default Strength decreasing over time

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Mark,

First of all I thank you for your books and videos, I have revisited them several times over the years and they have really helped to get me back to the important basics and block out all the fads.

My query: I am puzzled by how much my strength has decreased in the big lifts (squats and deadlifts) over the last few years and wonder if you have any insights...

I have been lifting for 15 years (since I was 13) and my strength peaked from around 19-21 years old. Since then it has been on the decrease despite most of the variables remaining the same in terms of time off, training parameters and periodisation etc. Where I once deadlifted 240 lb for 5 reps or so, I now lift around 180. With squats it used to be say 230lb for 5 reps, now it's more like 143 - big differences!! With all the 'accessory' type lifts I haven't noticed any great changes.

Surely at 28 I am far too young to be getting weaker! I would like to be on the up!!

Any thoughts or experience with this?

Thanks for your time.

Height, weight, diet info would be important here.

As Rip stated, the above is needed. Other issues possibly affecting your lifting are programming; recovery; work and dude stress; and overall being responsible for yourself as an adult opposed to being taken care of (assuming you were) into your college years.

Answer the above from Rip and search your log to see where you're coming up short. Don't fret though, I'm going on 44 and have hit many PR's in the last month due to solid programming and better focus. (Having Rip as a coach has helped a bit too.)

jp

Height: 5'2" (I'm female, just incase you didn't notice the name, so not quite a midget...)