starting strength gym
Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Norman's Log

Default Norman's Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I do keep a log at StrongLifts, which has now become private. Thusly, I am creating this log so I can have a public one.

How I came to be where I am right now:

Heart attack, June 3rd 2008. 346 pounds, 56" inch waist at the time.

For the next year I did Atkins diet and a lot of walking.

June 2009 I started lifting weights bw 295 - 305 pounds. I was getting stronger, but did not have a plan in place.

August 2009 discovered StrongLifts, 305ish pounds when I started. I bumped up the weight fairly quickly on squats and dead lifts initially, but then got into the groove of 5 more pounds every workout.

July 2010 made it to 1.5 BW squats, 470 pounds at 312bw.

August - October/November 2010 attempted a cut and failed. Body weight now in the 320 pound range.

November 2010 - present. Went back to what I know StrongLifts. Ate like a mad man to lift some heavy weight. Reduced squat to 3x5 and took it all the way to 500 pounds. Also got my dead lift to 1x5x500pounds. After this tested my one rep maxes on squat and dead lift did 545 and 585 pounds for both.

My first competition was 12.11.2010 1277 pound total.

My second competition was 2.19.2011 1515 pound total 600 for squat/dead 315 for bench.

I feel I am ready to attempt a cut again and will be doing so for the month of March. I will then return to StrongLifts. Still trying to exhaust my beginner gains.

I am planning for my next competition to be in June or July.

I am 45 years old. 6'4" 345 pounds 53 inch waist.

My next goals are 700 pound squat/dead or compete in a weight class other than SHW. Which ever comes first.

Good luck with your lifting.

Glad you decided to start a log here Norman. Your last meet you rocked it. Stay strong, I look forward to following your log.

Thx guys!