starting strength gym
Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cmanuel's General Strength Training Log

Default Cmanuel's General Strength Training Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Starting a new log here...clearing out my old competitive lifter log because...well... I dont really see myself being all that competitive haha.

Ok so here is my introduction.

I'm a 25 y/o graduate student. I currently live in Fort Collins Colorado but plan on moving to NC to continue my education either in July or August.

I have been training the right way about 4-5 years now. I dont remember really. I have experience doing Texas Method, Madcow 5x5, 5/3/1 (did this for a long time) and also Sheiko.

I usually train to do Raw powerlifting meets as well as strongman, although I think competitions will be taking a back seat over the next few months due to school consuming my life. Also money is tight and I dont have 90 bucks to drop on a PL meet every 2-3 months. Shit adds up quick!

Anyways I'm currently about 215lbs. I am at the end of a bulk where I got up to 220. I got a little fat and sluggish and so part of my training will focus on correcting this.

Best Gym lifts:
    Squat - 430
    Bench - 300 (paused)
    Strict OH Press - 235
    Push Press - 300 (axle)
    Deadlift - 565 (been stuck at this for a while. grip is limiting factor.

Best Meet showing is 1250@198.

Here is my training layout for the next few months. Its custom, but draws on a lot of ideas from various programs/schools of thoughts.

Week 1
    • Monday - Squats/Bench press - 3x5 across
    • Tuesday - Conditioning
    • Wed - DL (following 5/3/1 progression), OH Press (following 5/3/1 Progression)
    • Thursday - Conditioning
    • Friday - Heavy Squats/bench - ramp up to a top set of 1x5 thats heavier than Mondays workout

Week 2
    • Monday - Squats/bench press - 3x3 across with Week 1 Friday's weight