starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello, and Combating Old-age Soccer Atrophy...

Default Hello, and Combating Old-age Soccer Atrophy...

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi, folks. My name is Bill, I'm 51 (no AARP card yet) and have been lurking around the geezer forum here for a little while now, so decided to jump in and introduce myself. I've been back on the Program since November, and continue to make somewhat linear progressions (I've had two resets).
    About me:
    I started lifting as a teen and through college along with doing martial arts, track and soccer. I would describe my body type as " thin-boned ecto-mesomorph. I've always been on the lean side and somewhat of a hard-gainer. I play club soccer ("Over-30" league) from April thru October, then spend the winter months trying to regain lost muscle mass lost during the course of the season. We play 8 or 9 competitive games in the spring and again in the fall, with twice weekly pickup games over the summer months. I am a forward, am still a pretty strong sprinter, so my game is very anerobic. I'm 5"10", and go from 175 lbs down to 165 during the course of the competitive season. The loss in weight (combined with the onset of decrepitude) has in the last few years posed some issues in the form of injuries (sprains, strains, meniscus tears, separated AC ligament, bruised ego, etc.), so I've been looking for ways to put muscle back on without gaining too much extra weight. I tried Crossfit, which for me was about as useful as tits on a bull, but it did introduce me to the O-Lifts , kettlebells, and THE BOOK. I started the Program back in 2009 and was on it for about 3 months before starting soccer again that spring. Once the season started in April, I was playing most of a 90 minute match on Sundays, but then (at least over the past few years) taking at least three or four days just to r