starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I need a form check

Default I need a form check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey everyone. I'd appreciate if someone who knows more than me (almost all of you) could comment on my squat.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YcSFQTLw-bw

I've been feeling some pain in my left knee (on the outside and sometimes just beneath than the knee cap) and left hip (maybe the IT band). Because of this I am squatting roughly 75% of my most recent work weight. I don't know if this is the result of poor squat form, over training, or work. I'm a farmer so I find myself squatting body weight, bending, stooping, walking on uneven surfaces, carrying heavy shit, etc. all day long. It could just be a result of all the stuff added together. Also, years of sprint distance cycling have left my flexibility in bad condition, especially my hamstrings.

I just recently began eating enough to actually gain weight. I'm up 10lbs in the last few weeks. Prior to that I only gained 5lbs in about 2 months. I've been lifting for roughly 3 months. 5'9", 162lbs, 24 years old. Work weights: squat 200lbs, bench 150 lbs, dl 275.

Do you guys see any form errors that explain my knee/hip problem on the left side? Any other form errors I should be aware of?

Thanks.

Hard to say exactly from the angle/lightening but I'm fairly certain you aren't pushing your knees out. The lack of knees going out causes impingement at the ASIS, this in turn causes your low back to round (not good) and hamstrings to shorten ( most likely the causes of your knee and hip pain along with knees not getting out). So you need to push the knees out and keep a big, wide, up chest to keep the back in extension. Also fix your grip so that the meat of your palm is on top of the bar and not under or behind it.